top of page

These are a Few of My Favorite Things

I've only been here four months and I have so many memories. Here are just a few...

My first time in an outhouse. I felt so liberated. I even looked down.

Going to the countryside for the first time. We drove an hour up and down 89 degree slopes that had me clutching my pearls and raising my hand up to my sweet black baby Jesus. We finally got there and there were 5 wild dogs there to greet us. I stayed in the car till they took care of that situation. That was my first ger experience. The woman gave me öröm (clotted cream) which was the best thing I've ever had in life. They were so hospitable and pleasant. They lived in the middle of what Americans would consider "nowhere," but it was actually the most beautiful landscape I've ever seen. The land was vast and clean. Cows were herding over the mountains. The oldest son was milking a cow while his little brother wrapped his arm around him and smiled at his big brother with adoration.

Having a BBQ outside of my host family's house, then eating under the gazebo while watching the sunset.

Teaching my brother and sister how to play UNO...and having my brother call "UNO" with a smile...little did he know I had a Draw 4 waiting for him.

Having my 3-year-old nephew teach me Mongolian words, only to find out it was just baby talk.

Me dumping 3 heaping tablespoons of salt in my coffee without my knowledge. My loving mother watched in amusement as I lifted the cup to my lips for the first, lethal sip.

Walking downstairs to see a pig head (I named him Wilbur") on the kitchen table. He was delicious.

Walking downstairs to intestines stuffed with blood. I said "oh, what's that?" (with the most intrigued face I could pull) and her telling me the Mongolian name for it ("hunee giddis"). I said, "oh, that's nice. I don't like that." After she finished stuffing the intestines, she led me outside to this shed where they had a fire stove. She taught me how to light a fire, then she placed a pot of water on top of the stove and poured the intestines, heart, liver, lungs, and kidney into the water. Thirty minutes later we were eating innards under the gazebo. It was actually REALLY GOOD.

Going to the river with my entire training class and our families. We had khorkhog, which is sheep's meat and vegetables cooked with hot stones in an iron kettle. It was the best meat I've had in my life.

Being chased down the street by a herd of cows.

Karate kicking this pickpocketer's hand out of my purse. I felt like a pink Power Ranger.

Singing Michael Jackson and Celene Dion at karaoke.

Showing my little brother a live Michael Jackson concert, followed by Moonwalker. He was spinning and grabbing his crotch in front of his grandmother for at least 2 days.

My mother getting me a custom-made Mongolian del (traditional Mongolian garment) for Naadam (traditional Mongolian festival for "the three games of men," horse racing, wrestling, and archery).

Sitting at the kitchen table eating with my family, followed by informal Mongolian language lessons courtesy of each and every member of my beautiful family.


No tags yet.
bottom of page